Sugar Logo

Support Local Journalism

Sugar-Salem received one of the top awards the IHSAA can give out Monday, as the school was named the 2020-21 second place School of Excellence winner in 3A.

According to an IHSAA press release, schools “earn points based on their student-athletes’ performance in athletics, academics and sportsmanship.”

Academic, athletic and sportsmanship components are equally weighted to determine the awards, with academics based on team GPAs and athletics by performance at state tournaments.

According to the press release, “The Citizenship Component is based on a school’s self-evaluation of their citizenship/sportsmanship activities as submitted on an itemized form. Deductions are made by the IHSAA for player and/or coach unsportsmanlike ejections and also for unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments.”

School of Excellence award winners

5A Rocky Mountain High School

2nd place – Timberline High School

3rd place – Eagle High School

4A Bishop Kelly High School

2nd place – Twin Falls High School 3rd place – Century High School

3A Kimberly High School

2nd place – Sugar-Salem High School 3rd place – Timberlake High School

2A Bear Lake High School

2nd place – Melba High School 3rd place – Ririe High School

1A Div I Prairie High School

2nd place – Oakley High School 3rd place – Glenns Ferry High School

1A Div II Sun Valley Community School

2nd place – Dietrich High School 3rd place – Carey High School