Doug Smith being sworn in

District Judge Steven Boyce swears in Madison County Commissioner Doug Smith during the Jan. 11 commissioner's meeting at the Madison County Courthouse.

Support Local Journalism

A new commissioner will officially serve on the Madison County Board of Commissioners. 

Commissioner Doug Smith joined the board, which remains at three members following former Chairman Jon Weber's decision to step down from the board. Weber is now the District 34 representative in the Idaho Legislature. 

Elected county officials were sworn in by District Judge Steven Boyce during the county's commissioners meeting Monday, Jan. 11. 

“Thank you so much for giving me the honor of administering these oaths this morning to these important offices,” Boyce said. “I really appreciate it and appreciate everything you do for the county.”

Along with Smith, Commissioner Brent Mendenhall, Sheriff Rick Henry, and Treasurer Angie Moffat were sworn in. Commissioner Todd Smith swore in county Prosecutor Rob Wood.

Several community members attended the meeting to watch the officials be sworn in, including members of the Madison County Sheriff’s Office and Rexburg Mayor Jerry Merrill.

Doug Smith then joined the other commissioners and took his seat at the board. The commissioners also selected Todd Smith to serve as chairman and Mendenhall as vice chair.

“We appreciate you Doug,” Todd Smith said. “I do like the fact that Brent can no longer use the excuse that he’s the new guy. He’s been using that excuse for three years and he can’t do it anymore.”